Who can add me to their Buddy List

 
Anyone can add your screen name A Screen Name is your online identity. It is also your e-mail address and publicly identifies you anytime you communicate with others online in public areas like chat rooms and message boards. By using a screen name, you can keep in touch with friends & family or make new friends in many areas. to their Buddy List The Buddy List (TM) feature lists the screen names of your friends and family members who are online when you're online. However, if you wish to prevent someone from seeing whether you are online, you may do so by setting your Buddy List preferences. You can specify which people can see you on their Buddy List or you can prevent anyone at all from seeing you on their Buddy List.

To control who can see you on their Buddy List


1. If your Buddy List window is not open, go to the AOL toolbar and click Buddy List on the Community menu.
2. In the Buddy List window, click Setup.
3. In the Buddy List Setup window, click IM Settings.
4. In the Buddy List Preferences window, click the Privacy and Security tab.
5. Select your preferences for who can see your name on their Buddy List.
6. Click Save.

Notes

·
You must be signed on to AOL to set this preference.
·
The following privacy preferences are available:

Allow ALL

When you select this preference, any AOL or AOL Instant Messenger™ service user can see that you are online and send you Instant Messages The Instant Message feature allows you to have immediate, one-on-one, private chats in real time with other AOL members who are online at the same time as you (or with non-AOL members using the AOL Instant Messenger (TM) service)..

Allow only people on my Buddy List

When you select this preference, only people whose screen names you have added to your Buddy List window can see that you are online and can send you Instant Messages.

Custom Allow List

When you select this preference, a new dialog box will appear and only the people whose screen names you add to that list can see that you are online and can send you Instant Messages (depending on whether you apply your preferences to the Buddy List feature or to the Buddy List and Instant Message features).

Custom Block List

When you select this preference, only the people whose screen names you add to a list will be prevented from seeing that you are online and from sending you Instant Messages (depending on whether you apply your preferences to the Buddy List feature or to the Buddy List and Instant Message features).

Block Internet The Internet is a world-wide network of computers that allows people to send e-mail, browse and create Web pages, communicate in chat rooms and instant messages, and much more. AOL offers access to the World Wide Web through direct hyperlinks, AOL Search, and Keywords. Reminder: Some Internet content may contain objectionable material. users

When you select this preference, only AOL members who are using the AOL software can see that you are online and can send you Instant Messages.

Block all

When you select this preference, no one can see that you are online or can send you Instant Messages (depending on whether you apply your preferences to the Buddy List feature or to the Buddy List and Instant Message features).
·
Once you've chosen who to block, you must apply your preferences to the Buddy List feature only, or to both the Buddy List and IM features

Cannot view me on their Buddy List

When you select this preference, people you have blocked cannot see that you are online using the Buddy List feature. For example, if your privacy preferences block JohnDoe from your Buddy List, JohnDoe will not be able to see that you are online using his Buddy List, but he can send you an Instant Message if he determines you are online using the Locate Member feature.

Cannot view me on their Buddy List, IM me, or send me AOL Instant Greetings

When you select this preference, people you have blocked cannot see you are online using the Buddy List feature and cannot send you Instant Message notes or AOL Instant Greetings™. For example, if your privacy preferences block JohnDoe from your Buddy List and Instant Message, JohnDoe will not be able to see that you are online or contact you with an Instant Message note.