Choosing my email preferences

 

This article has two parts:

Choosing your preferences
Preference descriptions

Part 1: To choose your e-mail E-mail is typically a one-to-one communications system. With an AOL screen name, you can e-mail with other AOL and Internet users. preferences

1. From the Mail menu on the AOL toolbar, select Mail Settings.
2. Select your e-mail preferences and click Save.

Part 2: Preference descriptions

General

Mail Away Settings


- My Mail Away Message is __:

By default, Off is selected. Select On to turn your Mail Away Message on. 

- My Mail Away Message says __:

By default, your away message will say, "Hello, I am unavailable to read     your message at this time."To let mail sender know how long you are unavailable, select the second radio button "Hello, I am away until..."     and choose a date using the drop-down menus for day, month and year.

Default Mailbox view

Select New to view only new mail when you click Read on the AOL toolbar. Select Manage Mail to be able to view all the mail in your   mailbox.

By default, show me mail from __:

Select Everyone to show all the e-mail sent to you. Select People I Know so see e-mail from only those in your Address Book.

Sort mail in my mailbox by __:

When you select this setting, you can choose how messages will be sorted by default each time you open your mailbox.

Type -
mail is sorted according to who sent it; people you know, bulk senders, and then unknown senders (you can reverse this order by clicking the Type column in the mailbox).
Date (newest at top) -
your most recently received mail is displayed at the top of the list.
Date (newest at bottom) -
the mail that has been in your mailbox the longest is displayed at the top of the list.
E-Mail Address -
messages are sorted by sender (or recipient if viewing Sent Mail).
Subject -
mail is sorted alphabetically according to its subject line.

Notify me before opening mail containing pictures

When you select this setting, a confirmation window appears each time you open mail that contains an embedded image. If you don't know the person who sent the e-mail, you may not want to view the e-mail, since it could contain an objectionable image. Selecting this setting does not prevent you from opening mail that contains an image.

Retain all mail I read in my Saved Mail folder

By default, this check box is selected and read mail is saved in your Saved On My PC mail folder. If you do not want to have mail you've read to be saved on your PC, clear this checkbox.

Confirm mail that has been sent

When you select this setting, a confirmation window appears each time you send mail.

Perform a spell check before sending mail

When you select this setting, the spelling checker will check your e-mail when you click Send Now. (To send e-mail without checking the spelling when this preference is set, hold the Ctrl key down when you click Send   Now

Retain all mail I send in my Mail I've Sent folder

By default, this check box is selected and sent mail is saved permanently in your Saved On My PC mail folder. If you do not want to have mail you've sent to be saved on your PC, clear this checkbox.

Keep my old mail online __ days after I read it

Adjust the number in the box to increase (maximum of seven days) or decrease the length of time that old mail remains in your online mailbox.

Hide images & disable links in mail from unknown senders

When you select this setting, mail will be shown without images and disabled links if it is from senders not on your Buddy List The Buddy List (TM) feature lists the screen names of your friends and family members who are online when you're online or Address Book (except for special mail from AOL).

Advanced


When reading mail in in Full View


Always minimize headers:
Select this setting to have headers minimized when you read mail in a separate window.
Always minimize headers when I scroll:
Select this setting to minimize headers after you scroll within a mail message that is opened in a separate window. This setting allows you to see mail headers when you open a message, but minimizes the headers once you start reading the message so that you can have more space to read.
Never minimize headers:
Select this setting to never minimze headers when you open a mail message in a separate window.

Play sound when new mail is delivered

When you select this setting, a sound is played each time a new message arrives in your mailbox. This sound is played only if your mailbox is not empty at the time the new message arrives (if it is empty, you'll hear the familiar You've Got Mail! sound).

Show addresses as Buddy Info links

When you select this setting, an icon will appear next to the screen name A Screen Name is your online identity. It is also your e-mail address and publicly identifies you anytime you communicate with others online in public areas like chat rooms and message boards. By using a screen name, you can keep in touch with friends & family or make new friends in many areas. of each AOL member or AIM user who is signed on at the time you are reading a piece of mail. Clicking a hyperlinked address in the e-mail header (the portion at the top of an e-mail message) will provide a list of options such as sending e-mail, adding the person to your AOL Address Book, and more (the precise set of options you see depends on whether the person is an AOL member and whether he or she is signed on when you click the link). If you turn this preference off, clicking a hyperlinked address in an e-mail header will simply bring up a new Write Mail window with the person's address already in the Send To field.

Display next message when current message is deleted

When you select this setting, if you click Delete when you have a piece   of e-mail open, the next message in the list opens automatically. Otherwise, the remaining list of mail appears.

Present picture quality options when inserting pictures in e-mail

When you select this setting, a selection window appears when you insert a picture into your e-mail so you can select whether or not to change the picture quality of the picture. Otherwise, pictures will be inserted into your e-mail without a change.

Close mail after it has been sent

When you select this setting, the Write Mail window closes automatically   after you send the e-mail.

Confirm when mail is marked to send later

When you select this setting, a confirmation window will appear when you click Send Later.

Remind me at Sign On if I have mail waiting to be sent

When you select this setting, a confirmation window appears when you sign on, if you have e-mail waiting to be sent.

Retain all embedded images in read mail

When you select this setting, all embedded images in mail you read are stored in separate AOL-specific subfolder within your My Pictures folder. The My Pictures folder is a subfolder of the My Documents folder on your PC.

Use my Address Book and Buddy List to auto-suggest names when sending e-mails

When you select this setting, as you begin to type an e-mail address in the Write Mail window, matches from your Address Book or Buddy List will be suggested so that you can finish addressing the e-mail without typing.